Discover Malta


Discover Malta, a European country reach in history and culture

  • 80 km south of Sicily, 284 km east of Tunisia and 333 km north of Libya

  • Area of 316 Km2
  • Capital city: Valletta, UNESCO World Heritage Site and 2018 European Capital of Culture

  • Population: 457,000 (2018 Eurostat Estimate)

  • 3 UNESCO World Heritage Sites: City of Valletta, Megalithic Temples (Ġgantija Temples in Gozo, Ħaġar Qim, Mnajdra, Tarxien and the Ta’ Ħagrat and Skorba complexes in Malta), Ħal Saflieni Hypogeum

  • Member state of the European Union since 2004

  • Archipelago, only the 3 main islands are inhabited: Malta, Gozo and Comino

  • Mediterranean climate – 300 days of sun per year

  • The highest point is Ta’ Dmejrek on the Dingli Cliffs, at 253 metres from the sea level

  • First human settlement 5900 BC

  • Currency: EURO (€)

  • Electrical supply: 230 V, 50 H – 3-pin rectangular plug system

  • International Dialing code: +356

  • Emergency calls: 112

Main islands to explore
Churches to visit
UNESCO World Heritage Sites to discover
Discover Malta - Getting there
Getting there
Discover Malta - Explore Valletta
Explore Valletta
Discover Malta - Explore Mdina
Explore Mdina
Discover Malta - Beaches in Malta
Beaches in Malta
This website uses cookies and third party services. Review our Privacy Policy Ok